Date: 12th February 2020

Time: 6.00 pm onwards

Venue: Grand Ballroom, Waters Edge, Battaramulla


The location of the inauguration ceremony of the historic Colombo Medical Congress 2020 will take place at the Waters Edge.

It is set in a quiet location by the waters of the historic ‘Diyanwanna Oya’ in Battaramulla, which lies next to the administrative capital of Sri Jayawardenapura Kotte.

The Inauguration Ceremony is by invitation and will be graced by Sir Sabaratnam Arulkumaran as Chief Guest  and Prof Emeritus Kamini Mendis Guest of Honour who will deliver the Keynote Address, by distinguished alumni.

Professor Sir Sabaratnam Arulkumaran
Graduated with an honours MBBS degree in 1972  from the University of Ceylon, he,  then obtained his Diploma in Child Health,  MD and PhD by research from the National University of Singapore.

He was awarded the Knight Bachelor by Her Majesty the Queen of the United Kingdom in recognition of Services to Medicine & Health in her Birthday Honours List in June 2009. Sir Sabaratnam’s research and clinical interests are in understanding and improving the quality of life for women and newborn babies.

He was the President of the Royal College of Obstetrician & Gynaecologist, UK (2007-2010)

British Medical Association (2013-2014)

International Federation of Obstetrics & Gynaecology (2012-2015)



Emeritus Professor Kamini Mendis
Graduated from the Faculty of Medicine in 1972. She has conducted research on immunology and transmission blocking vaccines for my PhD thesis in London. Her original work on malaria research has been honoured by National Presidential Award, the Chalmers Medal of the Royal Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene, and the Ashford Bailey Medal of the American Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene. She established the Malaria Research Unit (MRU) in 1988 in the Department of Parasitology of the Faculty of Medicine, University of Colombo which functioned as a Centre for post-graduate research training and malaria research on Immunology, Molecular biology, Epidemiology as well as Genetics. In 1998, she moved to WHO Geneva to plan and launch the Roll Back Malaria initiative and then lead malaria treatment and elimination efforts with WHO’s Global Malaria Programme.






5.45 pm Arrival of Guests
6.00 pm Ceremonial Procession
6.05 pm National Anthem and Lighting the Lamp of Learning
6.15 pm Welcome Address by Co-Chairperson, Organising Committee

Professor Saroj Jayasinghe

6.25 pm A Silent Tribute to our Departed Alumni and Teachers
6.30 pm Address by the Dean, Faulty of Medicine, Colombo

Professor Jennifer Perera

6.35 pm Address by the Vice Chancellor, University of Colombo

Professor Chandrika Wijeyaratne

6.40 pm Address by the Chief Guest

Prof. Sir Sabaratnam Arulkumaran, Former President, International Federation of Gynaecology and Obstetrics and Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists

7.00 pm Keynote Address

Prof. Kamini Mendis

Professor Emeritus, University of Colombo

7.20 pm Address by the President, Colombo Medical School Alumni Association

Vidya Jyothi Professor Rezvi Sheriff

7.30 pm Launching of the Anniversary Publication

“Colombo Medical School at 150: Celebrating our Heritage”

7.40 pm Felicitations
8.15 pm Vote of Thanks by Co-Chairperson, Organising Committee

Vidya Jyothi Dr. Prasad Katulanda

8.20 pm Cultural Interlude
8.30 pm Fellowship